The Tim Buckley Archives

News and Updates

Tim Buckley Debut Gets Deluxe Reissue

LOS ANGELES (Rhino Records)

The strength and character of Tim Buckley's tenor - soaring yet delicate - was already a force to be reckoned with in 1966 when he recorded his self-titled debut for Elektra Records at the tender age of 19. It was also to be the only constant during the evolution that marked the singer-songwriter's career before his untimely death nine years later.

Rhino Handmade retraces the first steps of Buckley's uncompromising musical journey with a two-disc set that includes both the stereo and mono versions of his debut. The second disc contains nearly two dozen unreleased recordings Buckley made in 1965 with The Bohemians and in 1966 with frequent songwriting partner Larry Beckett.

TIM BUCKLEY - DELUXE EDITION comes housed in a weathered cardboard folio with rare photos and is set for release on January 11, with pre-order available beginning on December 15, exclusively at for $39.98.

Buckley recorded the album's twelve songs in Los Angeles with the team behind The Doors - producer Paul Rothchild and engineer Bruce Botnick. He was backed in the studio by guitarist and longtime collaborator Lee Underwood, bassist James Fielder, and Mothers Of Invention drummer Billy Mundi. Van Dyke Parks, who had spent much of that summer collaborating with Beach Boy Brian Wilson on the legendary Smile album, was brought in to overdub keyboards, and frequent Phil Spector sidekick Jack Nitzsche contributed string arrangements.

The DELUXE EDITION features both the stereo and mono mixes of the album, which contains several of Buckley’s early classics, including the singles Wings and Arent You The Girl. The music on the second disc has remained unreleased until now and provides an unparalleled insight into Buckley’s early development.

It opens with twelve songs he recorded in November 1965 with The Bohemians, a group he formed in high school with Fielder, Beckett, and guitarist Brian Hartzler. Recorded live in an Anaheim studio, the originals include early versions of She Is and It Happens Every Time - two tracks that later appeared on Buckley’s debut.

The session also yielded rockers like Put You Down and Come On Over and the ballads Call Me If You Do and No More. The nine songs that make up the second half of the disc were recorded shortly before the sessions for Tim Buckley and feature Buckley singing and playing acoustic guitar with Beckett, who recites poetry to Buckley’s guitar on two tracks: Found At The Scene Of A Rendezvous That Failed and Birth Day.

The home recording captures versions of the album tracks: She Is, Arent You The Girl, Wings, Song Slowly Song, and I Cant See You. The two remaining songs are the Buckley original My Love Is For You and the Beckett/Buckley collaboration Long Tide.


Track Listing

Disc 1:
Album in Stereo and Mono

1. I Cant See You
2. Wings
3. Song Of The Magician
4. Strange Street Affair Under Blue
5. Valentine Melody
6. Arent You The Girl
7. Song Slowly Song
8. It Happens Every Time
9. Song For Jainie
10. Grief In My Soul
11. She Is
12. Understand Your Man

Disc 2:

The Bohemians Demos
1. Put You Down
2. It Happens Every Time
3. Let Me Love You
4. Ive Played That Game Before
5. She Is
6. Here I Am
7. Dont Look Back
8. Call Me If You Do
9. You Today
10. No More
11. Wont You Please Be My Woman
12. Come On Over

Acoustic Demos:
13. She Is
14. Arent You The Girl
15. Found At The Scene Of A Rendezvous That Failed
16. Wings
17. My Love Is For You
18. Song Slowly Song
19. Song Introductions by Larry Beckett
20. I Cant See You
21. Birth Day
22. Long Tide

© 2010 Rhino Records

This website formerly used Adobe Shockwave , Adobe Flash, and Photodex Presenter to play photo slideshows.

Browsers no longer support these players as of January 12, 2021.
Please excuse limited navigation and missing audio files while modifications are being made.


Home Contact us About The Archives

Unless otherwise noted
Entire contents © 1966 - 2021 The Estate of Timothy C Buckley III
All rights reserved.